No Fancy Dancy review on this one, movie fans. It's already 3AM, and I need to get up early.
So... if you've seen the other two Hunger Games, then, well, dollars to donuts, you're going to see this one also. If you're not, then... well, you are not. This being said "Mockingjay" is a pretty good flick. It has some good action, and acting by the part of the returning cast. The only real problem, as you can expect, is that this is one book, stretched over two movies. So, as you can imagine, there's a lot of scene stretching, and some added material, to keep the pace up. Still, the story stays pretty close to the book, and the one change they made, I actually really enjoyed.
So, I guess what I'm saying is, if you were already planning on seeing it, it's not going to be horrible. It's going to be pretty good. If you were only kind of into the other two, then.. be prepared for some long, drawn out stuff here.
Friday, November 21, 2014
Friday, August 8, 2014
If you're wondering....
No review for "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles," I'm afraid. I had actually planned to review it, but they held the movie preview on a Wednesday Night, and I had to work at 4am on Thursday... so just couldn't pull it off.
Friday, August 1, 2014
Movie Review: Guardians of the Galaxy
Hey Movie Fans!
OK, first... stop.
Go see "Guardians of the Galaxy."
Ok, the rest of this is going to be me talking about Guardians of the Galaxy. But I just wanted to get that out of the way. Yes. It's good. Yes. You should see it.
Now, for the actual review. I have to warn you, this one is going to be filled with tangents. If you don't care.. just remember I already told you to go see the movie.
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is the 10th film in the Marvel Cinematic Universe, and arguably, the biggest gamble for the studio since Iron Man back in 2008. That's because, unlike all the other Marvel films, the Guardians are relatively unknown. I mean, if you're a nerd like me, you have no idea who Star-Lord, Groot, Drax, Gamora, or Rocket Racoon are. And, yes, I am a big enough nerd that I DO know who they all are. n fact, Thanks to my cousins, I read the Rocket Racoon mini-series way back in the 80's. My point is, I'm a nerd.
"Guardians" stars Chris Pratt, of "Parks and Recreation", as Star-Lord, an earthling who was kidnapped, and raised by a bunch of space pirates. Right from the go, we find out a few things about Star-Lord. He loves his groves, he's good in a fight, funny, and he's irresponsible with the ladies. Classic hero stuff.
Soon, he's caught up in a plot that sounds like something out of a caper film, surrounded by an oddball cast including Zoe Saldana, as the assassin Gamora, Dave "Deacon" Batista as the psychopath Drax, Groot the... Tree voiced by Vin Diesel, and of course, the scene stealing, gun-toting Rocket voiced by Bradly Cooper. They need to team up to save the universe, and, if they're lucky, turn a profit at the same time.
I could name the rest of the cast, because they all to a great job here, but that would take me all night.. and you can look it up on Wikipedia. Just know that everyone involved filled their roles perfectly.
To help helm this motley story , the Studio brought in James Gunn. I first was introduced to Gunn's amazing humor, and heart way back in 2000, with another superhero flick, "The Specials." Since then, he's spread his special form of fun and action across films ranging from "Scooby Doo" to "Lollipop Chainsaw." and he continues he deluded form of fun and action here. He not only directed the film, he also wrote it, and his touch is in every scene... and it all comes across perfectly. It would be very easy to get lost in a film with this many characters, and this many complex elements, but he's able to keep it all moving smoothly, keeping the action pretty much non-stop, and still include a lot of humor, and heart.
OK, so, Guardians isn't a perfect film. While it is one of the best in the M.C.U., I don't think it IS the best. While I love the lighthearted nature of the action, at some point, it just get's a little over the top, and I stop fearing that anything bad is going to happen. That's not all bad. This is supposed to be a really fun action film after all, but when you rob a movie like this of real danger, it takes some of the fear out of the script. But, you know what, this is just a small quibble. Overall, the movie is pretty damn thrilling.
Just to note, the special effects are really top notch in this one. Every scene seems crammed packed full of wonderful scenery and intense sequences. This film has not one, but two CGI characters in the lead, and both feel very real on the set. I did see it in 3-D, and while a LOT of the effects really did pop on the screen, I think you can get away with just seeing it in 2D if you wanted. I mean, when it come out in 3D I intend on buying it... but hey, that's me.
Parents! As for violence.. think 80's action movies. There are some deaths, and some of them are on camera, but they all are faceless baddies, with no blood. Kids of all ages will be entertained, but it's up to you how much of that you want to expose them to.
So, as I said at the top... go see this movie. If you're one of the people who reads my reviews, and reads this far into them, you REALLY need to see this movie. Oh, and stay after the credits for a tag that... well, I don't know for sure. They didn't show it in the screening I saw. So, I guess I'll go have to see it again.
Cool.
Lots more movies till to come this summer, including the new "Sin City" and "Teenage Mutant Please Kill Me Before I Have To See It Turtles."
Until the...I leave you with... the hoff.
Thursday, July 24, 2014
No movie this week!
No movie this week, gang. Was feeling a little too out of it to make it to Hercules today.
Next week: Guardians of the Galaxy!
You're mission until then... Watch James Gunn's FIRST superhero flick, "The Specials"
It's full of awesome!
Next week: Guardians of the Galaxy!
You're mission until then... Watch James Gunn's FIRST superhero flick, "The Specials"
It's full of awesome!
Friday, July 4, 2014
Movie Review: "Earth to Echo"
Hey again, Movie Fans, and Happy Birthday America!
This week's movie is the family film, "Earth to Echo." This film actually came out a couple days ago, but... I'm lazy so I didn't bother with the review until now.
"Earth to Echo" tells the story of three friends who, the night before a freeway project destroys their neighborhood, embark on a mysterious quest that leads them to an alien life form... and an amazing adventure. The film is shot in something like 'lost footage' style, like "Cloverfield" or "Project X" or dozens of other films that are trying to be unique. It's an interesting quirk, because it let's us see things from the kids perspective, and helps pull us into the action, but sometimes it really stretches reality, as you can imagine.
The 'found footage' gimmick also seems like an attempt to distract you from something that becomes a glaring reality very early on: We've seen this movie before, but better. Now, unoriginality is no serious sin in my book, and at some points it's a blatant homage to great movies like Goonies, E.T. Explorers, and others. Sadly, the comparison only makes it more apparent how generally mediocre it is.
Now, I didn't say bad. I said mediocre. It's like a meal at Denny's. It tastes fine. It will satisfy your basic needs. But you're not going to be sitting around thinking about it for hours after. You're not going to tell your friends about it. And one thing I will say, completely to it's credit, it IS a family film. Unlike lots of other so-called family films, "Earth to Echo" actually maintains a kid friendly tone.
That's not to say it's childish the entire time... but we don't see a lot of the darker elements that we do see creep into other movies that appear, at least on the surface, to be advertised to kids. Now, as you can imagine, there are disadvantages to this. The level of danger feels pretty toned down, and for us adults, the action seems kind of tame. It makes up for this with some well timed humor in the first act, but by the end of the movie, I was ready to see it over.
Parents, when I saw the film surrounded by kids, some of the very young, and none of them seemed too bothered, even by the brief scary parts. Unless you have a very sensitive child I would think it's fine.
And really, parents with kids are the only ones I can recommend this to. No, it's not terrible, but there's a lot better things for adults to spend their time and money on. But if you have a kid, and you want to spend some time munching popcorn without being afraid of some overly violent, or sexual scene skip in, then there are a lot WORSE ways to do it.
Well, that's it for this week. I had to work late tonight, and early tomorrow, so I'm keeping it brief.
Until next time, have fun movie fans!
Friday, June 27, 2014
Movie Review: The Transformers: Age of Extinction
Hey Movie fans!
I have to admit... I'm an old school Transformer fan. I can remember very clearly the amount of joy that I had watching the original cartoon as a kid, and even reading the comic book. So, despite having seen the previous Transformers movies, I was still looking forward to Age of Extinction. You see, in the first movie, there was a scene when Optimus first speaks, and says his name... and I'll be dammed if that didn't give me the chills. So now, like a drug addict, or a slot junkie, I keep coming back, time and again hoping for that same thrill.... but I always walk away feeling a little dirty.
In the fourth film of the trilogy, the autobots find themselves on the run. After the events of the last film, the U.S. Military, ran by Frasier Crane himself, Kelsey Grammer, is hunting down transformers of all kinds in the name of protecting human lives. As I've stated before: I hate it when sequels simply crap all over the happy ending of the last film. I understand why... .but it still bugs me.
Enter Mark Wahlberg, an inventor so down on his luck, he apparently had to move from Boston to Texas. He, his funny sidekick buddy, and his hot young daughter find an injured Optimus Prime and try to help fix him.
Soon, the government shows up...and bad things start happening. We trade out funny sidekick for the daughters hot boyfriend, meet up with some other Autobots, and uncover a secret plot that's way to complex to explain in a single sitting. I mean, it's not "Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy" or anything... but there really are a LOT of side plots, and extra characters, and times when all the bad guys sit around and wait for the good guys to have some exposition.
Thankfully, I can say this: "Age of Extinction" finally pays some attention to the Transformers themselves. We actually get to see the story behind the robots, and see how they develop. Sadly, the film makers still wanted to make sure we had all the human plot lines... so we end up with three hours of movie, and lots of scenes where Marky Mark is trying to tell his daughter, you gotta believe.
This review seems to be meandering ... just like the plot of the movie.
Anyway... Hey, this is a Transformer movie. As i've said before, this is the FOURTH Michael Bay transformers film. Seriously. At this point, if you walk into this film, you have to be OK with the fact you're walking into a theater to watch a movie, based on toys, about giant robots, directed by Michael Bay. If you're expecting more, then you really only have yourself to blame.
So, keeping that in mind, this film isn't that bad. The special effects are really cool, the action scenes have lots of really great sequences, you root for the good guys, and you cheer when the bad guys get blown up. And yes, when the Dinobots show up, it's pretty cool... even if there is nearly NO Explanation about what they are, why they're there, or even their names.
The 3D effects are pretty good in a couple scenes, but they're not mind blowing. I'm pretty sure there's a couple of scenes they simply put in just so they can show off the 3D effects. I don't mean, like scenes with explosions. I mean, scenes where ash is drifting around, or where people are looking at a long drop. That kind of stuff. If you love yourself some 3D, then go for it, but if you're looking to save a couple bucks, don't worry about it.
The only real complaint I have is that this movie is so freaking long! Three Hours! A Transformers movie does NOT need to be three hours long. and it's not like there aren't things they could have cut. There's all these random, time consuming scenes involving humans, and even extra characters that simply don't need to exist! at one point, it seems Bey is just throwing out attractive women like they're slow motion explosions... they're only there to keep us distracted.
That was my real complaint... my unreal complaint: These Autobots are a lot, and I mean a LOT darker than the ones from my childhood.
On a related note: Parents, Bey actually makes this film even more violent than the last. We see some pretty violent deaths of not only some robots, but of Human's as well. Most of them are the kind of deaths you just don't think about unless you're me, but at least one is a big, emotional, human death that could have younger kids upset.
Wrapping this up, I think the ultimate point I'm trying to make is: This is a Michael Bey Film, based on the 1980's Toys about giant robots.. but it's darker... and three hours long.
Wow, I could have started with that and saved myself a bunch of time.
Anyway, that's it for this week. I may have to take a couple weeks off due to personal stuff, and the fact I'm not paid to do this. So, see you later movie fans!
Thursday, June 19, 2014
Throw Back! "Wanted"
Hey gang!
No movie this week, but next week I should have the new Transformers movie.
To tide you all over (and in honor of Throwback Thursday) Here's a REAL flash from the past...
Wanted (2008)
No movie this week, but next week I should have the new Transformers movie.
To tide you all over (and in honor of Throwback Thursday) Here's a REAL flash from the past...
Wanted (2008)
Friday, May 30, 2014
Movie Review: "A Million Days To Die In The West"
Howdy movie fans!
Seth Macfarlane continues to branch out farther from his Family Guy origins, and further into the realm of hollywood this week with "A Million Ways To Die in the West."
Like in his last movie, Ted, Macfarlane wrote, and directed... but he also stars this time, as "Albert" a sheep farmer who is open about his hatred for the wild west, and desire to live more than face anyone in a gun fight. After Albert's girlfriend dumps him for a mustached Neil Patrick Harris, he's ready to chuck it all in, until he meets a beautiful stranger with a dangerous past.
It all may sound serious, and like most great comedies, the plot plays like it could be serious, but it all just serves as set pieces to help set up the various jokes the cast keep shooting out. While it's chock full of good humor, the film is at its best when it pokes fun at some of the most common western sterotypes. From gunfights and bar brawls, to the even things like fashion, music, facial hair, and blatnent racism that was rampant in that time. Like all really good humor, there's a lot of truth in the jokes that send up the cliches we've all grown up with.
And, just for the record, the jokes are good. The timing, delivery, and the pace were dead on, providing the audience with enough shocks and sly nods to keep us laughing throughout. But I do have a beef... if you've seen most of the trailers, you have already seen many of the best jokes! I mean, you hane't seen ALL the jokes, but you've seen a lot of the really good ones. It's kind of a let down.
So, a lot of you may be thinking... this sounds a lot like "Blazing Saddles"... and you would be right. Its a subject that McFarlane seems to acknowledge and take advantage of early on. While Mel Brooks focused mainly on the stereotypes of the 60's westerns, "A Million Ways To Die in the West" keeps an eye on the brutal reality of the time period. I think they films are good companions to one another... and if you wait until after the credits, it appears Seth seems to agree.
This is a bit of a shortened review, so I can't get into all of the cast, but I just want to mention that they all do a good job at keeping the laughs count high, without, for the most part, making the film seem like a farce. And the humor, except for a few jokes, is focused on the western concept... so unlike Ted, you won't have to go back and watch Flash Gordon again just to understand half the jokes.
Parents, there are some really, REALLY violent scenes, and deaths in this movie... and the jokes are just as filthy. So, if you're taking your kid, you're one of those opened minded parents that other parents will judging look at. ANd they'll say things like, "This isn't exactly a KIDS movie," and "You're one of those Opened Minded parents,"
So, time for the round up pardners. In a summer full of action films, and destruction, it's nice to have a nice, light comedy to change things up. "A Million Ways To Die in the West" may not be a most deep, thought provoking comedy, but it is light years above most of the inane films we see out there... but, much like the pioneers, you'll need to have a thick hide to make it through unoffended.
That's it for this time, make sure you check out my review of "Maleficent" also posting today.
Happy trails, Movie Fans!
Movie Review: "Maleficent"
Hey movie fans!
Two movies this week, so I need to keep them a bit brief.
Disney's live action re-telling of the classic story of "Sleeping Beauty," "Maleficent" is for everyone who has always been fascinated by the bad guy... or woman in this case.
The story stars Angelina Jolie as the title character. In this version, she's less of an evil witch, and more of a vengeful queen, fighting to protect her fairy kingdom, and to strike out at the man who betrayed her. To do this, she lays a curse upon the King's newborn child... that she shall prick her finger on a sewing spindle on her 16th birthday, and fall into a death like trance... but a lot can happen in 16 years.
So, it's obvious from early on, that this film is all about Angelina Jolie. I mean, not that that is such a terrible thing. She does a really good job at playing a dark character. and when she's at her most evil, you can see how much fun she's having. And, of course, she looks perfect for the part.
The problem rises, however, as the story carries on, and the plot is forced to keep finding ways to make us root for her, and still hit all the main plots from the classic tale. In fact, almost every character, from the king, to the fairy god... er aunts... are portrayed either as evil, foolish, or both. The only ones who seem to escape this are Princess Aurora, who is unbearably sweet, and Prince Phillip, who is about as interesting as a Jonas Brothers concert.
The special effects are really good, however, and imaginative. The fight scenes are really played out well, with lots of good dramatic actions, and some good, but not mandatory use of 3D effects. Some of the best, as you may well imagine, center around Maleficent herself.
As for violence, there is a lot of fighting going on in this flick... but it is still a disney film. that means little blood, and almost no on screen deaths. Still, some of the sequences are very dark, and violent, so you may want to take a bit of caution before bringing the kids.
All in all, just like Maleficent herself, this movie isn't really good, it isn't really bad, but it is pretty, and nice to watch.
Well, that's it for this review. Make sure you keep an eye out for my review of "A Million Ways To Die in the West," also posting today.
So, until next time... may you live happily ever after.
Friday, May 23, 2014
"X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Hey Movie fans!
Let's take a walk down memory lane.
People sometimes forget, but there was a time before there were many really good comic book movies. I mean, there were a few, yeah. But they were mostly DC based... and to be honest looking back, some of them don't hold up in comparison to what we expect from a Superhero movie now.
Then, in 2000, came the X-Men. Brian Singer gave fans of the heroic mutants something they could have only dreamed about: a great movie. It had action, pathos, and a believable script that audiences were really wowed to see. That, and really spot on performances by Patrick Stewart, ian mckellen, and the soon-to-be household name, Hugh Jackman made this a film for die-hards, and casual fans alike. A few years later, and we would get a great sequel.. spider man movies, and eventually, the launch of the Marvel Cinematic Universe.
But , the ole- X-Man franchise suffered a few bumps down the road. Despite the build up, I was disappointed the moment I walked out of X-3. And the Origins Wolverine didn't help much either. In fact, people were thinking of giving up hope, when they seemed to turn things around with X-Men first class. Set in the 1960's, this film had some similar visuals as the other X-films, but some parts of the plot just didn't add up, and despite a cameo from Hugh, the film makers had thought they were making the first of a re-launch.
Instead, we get a merger, with Fox trying to use the best from the old, to re-enforce the new... and by the old, we don't mean just the original cast, we also mean the original director, Brian Singer. And what better way to bring the two franchises together across the gulf of time than one of the most classic story lines in X-Men history.
In Days of the Future Past, The Mutants in the future live in a dire world, run by nearly unkillable Sentinel robots. But they come up with a plan, to send Wolverine back into the past, the 1970's to be exact, to stop an event that would set the current events in motion. To do it, he needs to re-unite some help from 1970's Professor X, Magneto... and, considering how First Class ended, you can imagine that's not going to be easy.
What follows is what a great example of taking the best qualities of two worlds and making one fantastic whole. To say it briefly, "Days of Future Past" is a great super-hero flick. The action is quick, and constant. We really get to see some creative use of some cool mutant powers right from the get go. And despite this being a film about time travel, the plot is straightforward enough to follow... even if you may have to remind yourself of William Stryker is.
Both James Mcavoy, and Michael Fassbender, reprising their roles from from First Class, continue to do great jobs as Professor X, and Magneto, continuing their struggle with ideologies, even as they unite for a common cause. And the story gives no easy answers. Magneto may be ruthless, but you can't help but understand his stance. And Professor X may have all the best intentions in the world, but his actions seem to hurt those who he had wanted to protect. Its some great pathos that is great to see develop, and to see how it all comes to an end,
Also of special note, in my mind, is peter Dinklage, as Bolivar Trask, the man whose fear of mutants is at the center of the movie. Dinklage is does a fine job humanizing a character it would be easy to simply dismiss as an evil monster. The more important thing to note, is that Dinklage is playing a role that does not need to be a portrayed by a person with Dwarfism. There is nothing about Trask that needs this trait. there's nothing about his storyline that hints that his motives are sparked by his height. Trask's merits, and faults could be found in any person. it would easy.. .VERY easy for the script to have included Trask waxing about how he envied the Power of mutants. Instead, we see a role being given to Dinklage for the only two reason's that matter. One he's a great actor. and two, thanks to Game of Thrones, he's really well known right now, so he adds name recognition.
Anyway, this is getting longer than I had anticipated, and I need to work tomorrow.
So, one thing the Xmen films have always done well is special effects, and the latest film only ups the ante. Not only are there great action scenes full of amazing powers and stunts. Also, and I don't say this often, if you can afford it, I would recommend seeing it in 3D. Normally, I don't really think 3D is really worth the price, but not only does 'Days' use the 3D effects well, but there are some scenes that really benefit from the effects. I doubt you will lose anything if you don't see it in 3D however, so if you want to save the cash, or if you're one of those people who just cant, or won't see 3D, you will not feel left out.
There are some problems with 'Days,' but there they kind you may expect in a film of this nature. First off, there's some pretty big continuity problems. They may get around to solving them one day, but right now they almost feel like elements that were just washed over for the sake of simplicity. The second, and I'm afraid this is a bit of a spoiler, so be warned... i hate it when characters who were main characters in the first movie, are killed off between films. I know why it's done, and I don't care. It always feels like it re-colors the end of the last film in the series. I'm not going to say more.
As for violence, due to the nature of the plot, "Days" has some scenes that are much darker than the other X-Films. In fact, you see, pretty graphically, be it bloodlessly, some on camera deaths. And these are some intense moments. For adults, this won't be a problem, but this really isn't a film for younger kids. As always, consider the audience.
So, there you go. "Days of Future Past" is a great, fun way to spend the memorial day weekend, and I
recommend it to anyone who liked the first movie, or first class. Lets hope this film helps define the franchises 'future.' See what I did there. I'm so clever.
Next week, Angelina Jolie reminds us how good evil can look, and Seth Macfarlane reminds us how The Old West was a terrible, terrible place to live.
Until then, this is Ron Edens reminding you, I'm the best at what I do, and what I do isn't pretty.
POST EDIT:
Almost forgot! Wait until the end of the credits!
POST EDIT:
Almost forgot! Wait until the end of the credits!
Friday, May 16, 2014
Movie Review: Godzilla
Hey Movie Fans!
When I was a young kid, I loved Saturday Afternoon movies. Kung Fu, Sci-Fi, they were all great. But when I would turn on the TV, and Godzilla was on, it was like I had just hit a jackpot. I didn't matter to me if it was a great one, or a terrible one, I would plant myself in front of the TV, until I was so excited I would run around my living room smashing fake cities. Mind you, I was 17 at the time.
Anyway, I've never lost my love of Godzilla. I even bought tickets to see a special advanced screening of 1998 Godzilla movie. Then, I had to go to an advanced screening of Godzilla 2000 to drive that out of my head. So, you can imagine the mix of excitement and fear that I've been waiting for this latest Godzilla movie. And I want to say right-off, THIS Godzilla kicks all kinds of monster butt.
The story centers around a US Soldier, played by Aaron Taylor-Johnson, caught in the middle of a conspiracy surrounding giants monsters.
Ok, really, you're not going to see this for the plot. I mean, there is plot there. The investigation into the conspiracy is interesting, if only because the entire audience knows what's really going on. I mean, it's Godzilla. Anyway, once the giant monsters start breaking out, it's all action from there, as the action builds to a huge fight between some big, scary monsters.
I should mention, just to sound professional, that the acting in the film was adequate, with the best scenes going to Bryan Cranston, (as you can imagine) and Ken Wantanabe. Taylor Johnson does a well enough job, but nothing better than expected. The direction, and the pacing really helps build the excitement for the final fight. even if its clear that the real star is a giant CG Monster.
My only complaint, and some people might actually be pleased by this, is that there wasn't enough giants monsters fighting. The first big conflict is cut off before it gets good. They then just give glimpses of the destruction, as the little humans scramble to find a way to stop them.
But boy, when they do face off, the pay off is worth it. This is some GREAT giant monster stuff. They're big, the city is smashed all to hell. I really don't want to give too much, because there's lots of good surprises in the final fight itself. and, I'm afraid I'm going to go overboard with how great it was.
I will say, I don't know if the 3d is needed. There are some scenes where the 3D is nice, but I can't think of any scene where it really struck me as needed. Now, if you do feel like spending he money for the experience, I didn't find the 3D distracting, so you should feel free.
Parents, you know exactly what you're getting here. Lots of people get crushed, stepped on, and there are
some scary moments, some focusing on kids. Sensitive kids might be upset, but, honestly, most kids who like action movies should be fine.
So, in case you didn't get it from my main post, I really liked Godzilla. There's a good chance I'm going to
pick up the 3D movie when it comes out. If you are a fan of Godzilla films, or if you like last years "Pacific Rim" then you should check it out as soon as you can.
Next week (barring giant lizard attack) X-Men!
Friday, April 4, 2014
Movie Review "Captain America: The Winter Soldier"
(Sorry for the lack of a PodCast. I was trying to do it, but my internet service stopped. By the time it came back on, I was too tired.)
Hey Movie Fans!
Captain America returns to the Big Screen this weekend in
‘The Winter Soldier.”
Unlike the previous Capt. America movie, this one is set
firmly in the present, giving up time to examine the ‘man lost in time’ aspect
of the character. Sadly, catching up on
Star Wars films is the last of Cap’s concerns, as he’s soon embroiled in a world-wide
conspiracy, with few friends.
Captain America, played by Chris Evans, has always had a
place in love in my heart. Unlike many other Marvel Heroes, he has no real
powers. Yet, he never backs down from any fight, and always manages to overcome
the odds. This story highlights both his weaknesses, and his strengths,
allowing him the room to show what a well-placed shield can do.
We also get to see a lot more of Captain America’s
supporting cast. Scarlett Johansson, as the black widow, burns up the screen
with her sexy, yet extremely vulnerable spy antics. Anthony Mackie, introduced
as Cap’s long time sidekick “The Falcon” ads a nice touch of variety to the
cast, without overwhelming up with characters. My favorite contribution however
is from Samuel Jackson as Nick Fury. We really get to see how the world’s
greatest super-spy earned his reputation.
On the bad guy side, there are lots to root against. Aside
from The Winter Soldier himself, we get to see Robert Redford as a politician
who thinks Cap has gone rogue and set’s shield after him. There are even a
couple of Captain America’s more long standing foes who you have to really know
your Marvel History to Spot. But my favorite was the return of Aram Zola. Introduced as a scientists working for the
Red Skull in the first movie, in the Comics, Aram was a mad scientists who
placed his brain in the body of a clone with his face on his chest, and a
camera for a head. While we don’t get to see anything so Bizarre here, the
cinematic interpretation is just as fun, and fantastic.
OK, I'm getting caught up in all the details… you might want
to know how the movie was?
Well, I feel confident in saying it’s one of the best of the
Marvel films. More than on par with the original, it may challenge Avengers of
the best of the bunch. It has the best plot, and the best acting for sure. It’s
a rare film that can introduce such a complex plot, and make it so easy to
understand. Then you ad in some of really top notch action scenes, and there’s
a great combination. From the opening
sequence, to the final battle, the action is always kept tight and fun, while
still keeping the story moving.
I would also like to point out that, unlike some other
Marvel films, “The Winter Soldier” has some much deeper meaning. I can’t go
into detail without giving away too much of the plot, but it does well to see
how a hero of World War Two reacts t the very modern way Modern Wars are
fought. It’s not the first, or best film to do this, but it adds a level of
depth that I enjoyed.
Touching again on the acting, I really do have to hand it to
the cast. As you can expect, they’re all playing larger than life heroes and
villains… but they do it well. At least,
well enough.
Quick aside on the 3D… I don't know. I would love to tell
you how the 3D was, but the screening I saw was not presented in 3D. I can tell
you, I never missed it. I never once thought to myself, ‘That would have been
better in 3D” or even “I imagine that would have looked better in 3D.” In fact,
I have a great deal of fear the 3D effects are not going to work very well at
all. The action is all very fast, and sometimes shaky. I think the 3D effects may make it impossible
so follow some of that action. If any of
you do see it in 3D, let me know what you thought.
Also, if you go catch it, I’ll give you a bit of a hint: Stay for all the credits. That’s all I’m going
to say.
Parent’s, I should warn you, “The Winter Soldier” Is a much
darker film that some of the other Marvel movies. It’s not as bad as The Dark
Knight or anything, but it’s still very intense at times. You know your kids best, but you may want to
think twice before bringing very small children.
To sum it all up, “Captain America: The Winter Soldier” is a
strong addition to the Marvel Cinematic
Universe, and it may be the best overall
‘movie’ of the bunch.
Until next time, this Is Ron Edens!
Capt. America quick review
Hey everyone. Sadly my internet is down tonight, so I can't post the review I wrote for Cap. America: the Winter Soldier. I'll try to post it later today... But until then, I will tell you. It's awesome, go see it, but don't bother with 3D.
Friday, March 21, 2014
quick movie review: "The Grand Budapest Hotel"
Sorry for the quick review, folks. Working an odd shift, so I didn't have time to sit out and write a full review, much less make the Podcast.
I really enjoy Wes Anderson films, and this one is no exception. However, some aspects of TGBH do not blend well with the fairy tail setting Anderson lays out. In part, this fits the theme of the film (that of the Savage modern world replacing the more dream like one that came before it) but it creates jarring moments that seem disjointed. Still, the performances of ALL the cast are fantastic, and I still recommend the film to anyone who is a fan of Anderson's other works.
I really enjoy Wes Anderson films, and this one is no exception. However, some aspects of TGBH do not blend well with the fairy tail setting Anderson lays out. In part, this fits the theme of the film (that of the Savage modern world replacing the more dream like one that came before it) but it creates jarring moments that seem disjointed. Still, the performances of ALL the cast are fantastic, and I still recommend the film to anyone who is a fan of Anderson's other works.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)





